Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Sub-Committee

Statement of Purpose 

The AUCCCO Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee (DEI Committee) actively works to promote inclusion within AUCCCO so that all members, regardless of race, ethnicity, sex, gender identity and expression, sexual orientation, age, ability status, religious affiliation, professional discipline, geographic location, university or college of employment, or any other social or non-social identities, can feel seen, respected, represented, and that their perspectives and experiences are valued. The DEI Committee seeks to do this through active recruitment and outreach to diverse organizations, universities, and individuals, providing support to conference organizers, and by supporting and advising the Board of Directors on the integration of diversity and social justice principles into all aspects of the organization.

The DEI Committee also supports the development and implementation of outreach services that a) address the intersection of multiple social identities, b) promote social justice and advocacy, c) celebrate diversity in all its forms, and d) recognize that campus climate has a profound influence on students’ lives. We strive to accomplish this by helping increase resources and support around diversity and multiculturalism available to outreach clinicians, and providing guidance around best practices for inclusive outreach.

As an Association, we take personal and organizational responsibility to grow in our awareness, reduce barriers and bias, and strengthen our multicultural competence. We can never assume to have reached the final point on this journey and we are committed to supporting and challenging each other through difficult dialogues.



  • Charlotte Amenkhienan – Virginia Tech
  • Emily Barnum – University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Kristin Bertsch – Drexel University
  • Batsirai Bvunzawabaya – University of Pennsylvania
  • Christy Hutton – University of Missouri
  • Soumya Madabhushi – University of Pennsylvania
  • Megan Marks – University of Kentucky
  • Shraddha Niphadkar – University of Missouri
  • Reena Sheth – University of Michigan
  • Jane Yang – Emory University
  • Monika Gutkowska – Northwestern University
  • Erica Weathers – Mount Holyoke College

The Association For University and College Counseling Center Outreach
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software